New Year – Do Over

I’ve been considering my family history a lot lately. With the holidays I’ve decided that it’s time to give my ancestors some much needed love. I’ve bought a new laser printer and I’m ready to do this the right way. The problem is that I have no idea where to start. I read this article Genealogy Do Over and I’ve decided to give it a go.

I have been fortunate that I have someone on my father’s side that is now willing to share what they know about their parents and grandparents. In my haste to discover as much as I can I relied too much on other’s trees. I expected that since their research was so well documented and they had a ton of pictures of my family, their trees were as close to accurate as I could get. Now I’m not so sure as I take a closer look at the individual people on the tree.

So I am going to put everything aside and go with what I know to be true. I have many lines of my family tree dating back to the 1600s in the US. I can’t wait to see how much is correct and how many of the people I’ve grown to love I will have to say goodbye too.

I’ve said this before but I hope that I can blog my journey along the way and maybe make a feature out of some of my surnames. I’m excited to get my hand wet and dedicate more time to this everlasting hobby/obsession.

Leave a Reply

