Census Sunday – Michigan Agriculture Census 1870

I’m very familiar with the standard census records taken every 10 years. While researching my 5th great grandfather Enoch Hibbard I came across an  Agriculture census. At the time he was living in Michigan. I was very interested and excited to learn what he had on this farm.

SelectedUSFederalCensusNonPopulationSchedules-Enoch-Hibbard-1870

From this census I found out that he had horses, cows and grew wheat and Indian corn all on 20 acres of land. Before living in Michigan he lived in New York and Vermont so I wonder if he got a special deal on land, or if the soil was just perfect for growing? Either way I am very happy to have this peak into his life.

Leave a Reply

