The Fuller Boys pt 1 – Ellsworth Luroy Fuller

One of my many goals for 2013 was to trace a collateral line of my family tree. Because there is so much of my family tree that frustrates me I wanted to make this goal a little easier. I picked a surname that I am most interested in and then picked a couple with a bunch of kids. For the next several weeks I will be talking about Jason Fuller and Etta Blanchard’s boys. They had seven boys and two girls. Many readers of my blog may remember that my second great grandmother was the person that started this whole obsession. These boys are be her brothers.

The first post will be the eldest boy Ellsworth Luroy.

Birth

 The year is 1887. The President was Grover Cleveland and the Vice President seat was vacant. Congress passes the Interstate Commerce Act, and Pearl Harbor is leased by the Navy from the US Senate. It’s an exciting year for the US but for Jason and Etta Fuller the most important part of their life came on the 27th of March. They become parents as Ellsworth Luroy is born.

They were living in Roxbury, VT. Jason worked on a farm and Etta stayed home with her newborn baby. By 1900 Ellsworth has seven other siblings and they are living in a house as his father left farm work. We can assume that he goes to school and then comes home and helps his mother around the house.

marriage

We lose sight of Ellsworth until 1912 when he marries Grace Etta Hopkins on October 9th. He was living in Williamstown, VT as a farmer. Whether he worked on his own farm is unknown, but highly unlikely. Ellsworth and Grace had three children : Pearl born 1915, George born in 1918, and Raymond born in 1921.

 

1920-Census

The next time we see Ellsworth, he’s living in Windsor, VT in 1920. The above is the US Census which tells us that between 1912 and 1920 he left farming and started working at the Quarry. Most of the families on this page of the census all have the same place of employment, however I can’t get a clear grip on exactly what company it is.

WW1Up until this point the entire Fuller family had always been involving in farming. I started to wonder what could have happened to make the sudden chagce of career. I found Ellsworth’s World War 1 Draft Registration. At the bottom of first page we can see that he is claiming exemption because of defective eyes and wrist. Did he have an accident that caused him to stop farming? I may never know unless it was documented somewhere.

WW2

On his World War 2 Registration it’s noted that he has a scar on his right wrist. Was that something so obvious that they needed to mention it? What’s interesting to me is that he had blue eyes. I know that might not seem like a big thing, but no one other than myself and my mother have blue eyes in our family. Could this be the line we got them from? 

I’ve gotten ahead of myself jumping to the 1940’s so lets go back to 1926. By now we know that Ellsworth has a wife and three children. He’s working as a machinist in what I assume was some kind of stone working company.

USCityDirectories-1926

I started looking into the city directories on Ancestry and was so excited to stumble across this. Ellsworth lived next door to three of his brothers on National Street in Windsor, VT. We finally have a company name, however in later directories he starts to work for C A M Co. I’ve always wondered if the siblings stayed near each other and for the better part of the early 1900’s they did. From what I have been able to discover it wasn’t until the 1940’s and after that the siblings started to move away. More on that in another post.

In the 1930 and 1940 Census not much has changed. Ellsworth is still living with his family in Windsor and working as a machinist. In 1940 his son Raymond is working as an apprentice in the same shop. 

1940-Census

After 1940 not much is known about what happened to Ellsworth. I was able to find a death record in the Social Security Death Index. He passed away in February 1963 in Florida. What was he doing in Florida? I had always believed the my great grandmother (his niece) was the first person to move away from New England, but that was not the case. Ellsworth was there almost ten years before. Had my great grandmother gone to visit him and decided that she wanted to live there too? I may never know.

My research into Ellsworth Luroy is not nearly complete, but he’s done a very good job of hiding from me so far. Maybe a look into his brothers will shine more light on his life.

2 responses

  1. It’s good to “see” you again. 🙂

    1. Thanks 🙂 It’s been a crazy new year for me.

Leave a Reply

