New Book

I have decided to write another book. Why am I mentioning it here on my genealogy blog? Because it’s going to be a genealogy based book. Sort of. I’d like to try my hand at a period/time travel book. Something like : A girl discovers a family heirloom that causes her to travel back in time to see what her family was really like… But much better.

I love to read and lately I’ve been struggling to find books that involve genealogy that are not murder/mystery books. I’m looking for self discovery/light romance books with a family history plot. If you know of any please let me know. I’ve always thought that if there are no books that I want to read, I’ll write it. So I’ve had this story in my head for a little while now.

What I need from you my dear friends is ideas. What kind of things were your ancestors doing in the early to mid 1800s? I know what mine were doing, but I could use some other ideas. I would love to make it as real as possible.

4 responses

  1. Do you like young adult fiction (because I have a couple titles for you in this genre)?
    Top on my list would be Revolution of Jennifer Donnelly. She finds a historical artifact that takes her back in time to the French Revolution.

    1. That sounds like something I would like. thank you! The book I just finished was a young adult book so I do love them 🙂

      1. I reread your post after I posted about Revolution. There is a bit of romance to the book, but it is a little heavy at times and there is a bit of a mystery about the artifact. I love Jennifer Donnelly. She writes some great historical fiction. She wrote the Rose trilogy about three siblings in a family from the days of Jack the ripper through the 1920s. The saga goes all over the world. Each book focuses on one sibling and their part in the story. There are some great historical references, from climbing Mt. Kilamanjaro in Africa to traveling with Shackleton to the south pole. This trilogy is more adult in scope.

  2. A friend of mine has written a series of books that incorporate a bit of family history. The books are geared for kids ages 9-12, but I loved reading them as a quick, fun read. See http://www.hiddentreasuremysteries.com/.

Leave a Reply

