Military Monday – Kermit Cullum Jr.

Today I’d like to recognize my Great Uncle Kermit. I’m not really sure what war he was in I think it was the Vietnam War. Possibly the latter part of the war. I was only four when he passed away but I have tons of pictures of us together. Below is one of my favorites.

scan0025

I’m not really sure why it’s one of my favorites, I just love the expression on his face. When he died he left a son and daughter. It wasn’t until last month that we got back in touch with his son. We learned that his daughter had already passed away. I’m upset that we lost touch with his children. They seem to have really needed the family.

grandma and kermitLike most of the children in my family they were separated from their parents for a time. I’m not sure why my great grandmother decided that she needed to send Kermit away but for a period of at least five years he wasn’t with her. The story is that my great grandmother just didn’t  want to deal with him, but we’ll never know for sure.

The picture of the right was taken when Kermit and my grandmother were reunited. I’ve already posted it under a Wordless Wednesday, but wanted to add it here as well.

My mother will tell you about how awesome he was. When she was a teenager he would buy her beer and marijuana. They would go out to the beach and party for hours. Although I was never into that growing up, I can see why my mother thought he was so great.

I know that this post was supposed to be about his military career but I couldn’t get away without speaking about him. It seems these days people are in too much of a hurry to actually sit down and talk about memories. However I will end the post with pictures of him that I received after my great grandmother passed away in Aug of this year.

If anyone can tell me what branch he was in by the photos I would appericate that very much. We believe it was Army, but no one really knows for sure.

scan0026 scan0027

3 responses

  1. Sorry I can’t help with the military uniform. There have got to some military folks out there who can give you a hand though.

  2. That is definitely an Army uniform. You can learn more about his service by ordering his personnel file from The National Personnel Records Center, Military Personnel Records (NPRC-MPR) http://www.archives.gov/st-louis/military-personnel/. Good luck!

    1. Thank you! I will check into that.

Leave a Reply

