O is for the Osgood Sisters

When I started my family research I didn’t think about the possibility that there would be families where I was related to more than one child. I was shocked and a little appalled when I found out that I was related to cousins that married as well. That’s not something that happens in this era.

I had to take a step back and remember not to judge people that I never knew. Then I remembered about the time period all of this was happening. There weren’t many people in the tiny town that my ancestors lived in. I just have to remember that it was common back then.

Sarah and Mary Osgood were the daughters of William Osgood and Elizabeth Clere.

Mary married Thomas Currier in 1668. Of her children, Richard and Anne would go on to become ancestors in my family tree.

Sarah married John Colby in 1675. John’s parents are John Colby and Frances Hoyt. Frances was the mother to three children who became my ancestors.

If you’re not confused by now my props go out to you. I’m still trying to organize all of them to make sure that I have them straight. Does anyone else have ancestors like this?

Leave a Reply

