N is for National Societies

I am a huge fan of The Gilmore Girls. I ate up every episode I could get my hands on. It was on that show I first heard about the DAR. The Daughters of the American Revolution. Mrs. Gilmore was a member and I remember thinking “What a rich elitist group of stuck ups. Who would ever want to be apart of that?” I didn’t care much for Mrs. Gilmore.

I have of course done a complete 180 on the whole idea. I look forward to the day when I have everything in order and get accepted. How exciting that time will be.

There are two possible ancestors that I am looking into that would give me DAR status. The first is Stephen Fuller. From what I have gathered, he fought in New York. There is a problem with him though. Below is a statement he wrote explaining his war service.

Stephen-Fuller-Rev-War-statement

There are some details that just don’t match up to what I’ve found on him. This Stephen and my Stephen both have wives named Lydia. It’s possible they are the same  person, but I’m just not sure right now.

The second ancestor is the easier of the two. He is the one I will probably use. Jonathan Holman was a Colonel in the War. There are so many documents on his family than there are for Stephen’s. I just need to get my hands on a few more records and I should be all set.

To be honest I wish I was able to get more on Stephen. His last name, Fuller, was in the family all the way to my great great grandmother Aimee. I think it would mean more to myself and my mother to be added under his name.

The DAR isn’t the only society I am looking to belong to. Once I have completed the DAR, I’m going to start with The Sons and Daughters of the First Settlers of Newbury, Mass. Grants it’s not a big as the DAR but to my family who grew up in New England, it’s just as important.

Since my family has been here before there was a country I’m sure there are many more societies I could apply to. For someone who started this journey thinking we never did anything cool, I was taken by complete surprise.

Leave a Reply

