K is for King James Version

Today’s letter is K. Throughout my research on genealogy I keep reading people talk about Family Bibles. As far as I knew we had no such Bible in the family.

My grandmother was the first person in our family to become a born again Christian. At least in recent memory. From her we all began to go to church and read the Bible. I remember her huge study Bible but never thought about what was in it. Could our family history be written down?

A couple months ago my mother was going through some of the stuff she received after my grandmother died. In it was a family Bible. My reaction was probably a lot more excited than the normal person. I never got to talk to my grandmother about our family before she died and my great grandmother (bless her soul) never cared much about family. She passed away with a lot of knowledge we couldn’t’ get out of her.

I was so excited to see this Bible and all the information it contained. And it had little quotes and notes throughout that my grandmother made. I have 3 other Bibles, but this is by far one of my favorites. Even if it’s harder to read.

Image12062012114114

Leave a Reply

